Which Linux is best for me?

Here is a simple test that helps newcomers to choose a Linux distribution from several listed (e.g. Ubuntu, Fedora, Mandriva,..). The site list of distributions includes the major Linux distributions.

Here are sample questions from the test:

Do you know how to “partition” a hard drive?
Yes
No, I have no idea what “partitioning” means
No, but I know what “partitioning” means

Which kind of installer do you prefer?
Graphical (Point and click)
Text mode (only keyboard)
I don’t care, as long as it’s easy and it works
What is the difference?

Take the test at http://www.zegeniestudios.net/ldc/

And to know more about the major competitors in the Linux distributions arena visit http://distrowatch.com/dwres.php?resource=major

4 Responses to “Which Linux is best for me?”


  1. 1 PKG November 10, 2006 at 5:35 am

    i am a beginner and that was very helpfull …. thanks 🙂

  2. 3 Nick April 6, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    Wow, thanks very much. I’ve always been wanting to use linux more but I didn’t know which one to use. This helps alot, thanks.


  1. 1 tech.twomadgeeks.com » Which Linux Is Best For Me? Trackback on December 30, 2007 at 3:55 am

Leave a comment




About

I’m Khalid Ashoor, living in Jeddah .. This blog is, mostly, my tech picks; I might put some puzzle games, personal info, ..more>>

Blog Stats

  • 41,156 hits

RSS Feed:

My Flickr Photos: